9/11

Today we remember that terrible day.  I was with a company out of Dallas and we were in Pennsylvania working on a contract to install a communication system for the state, a lot of travelling around the state.  That day I was in my hotel room in Williamsport taking care of some paperwork and planning my next install.  I usually watch the news in the morning and the reports of a plane crash in New York peaked my interest.  As we all know things went bad real fast from there.  By this time all that mattered is what was happening on television.  After a while there were reports of a plane crash in Shanksville, Penssylvania.  I was in Somerset, which is about five miles from Shanksville, the day before.  Now I started to really worry.  I was over 1500 miles from my family.  I was able to get a hold of the wife and folks after some trying but feeling helpless not knowing what else might happen.  I can go on and on about that day and the days and weeks after and how much it has affected our lives.  I would rather take that time to remind The Boy (he was 5 at the time) and teach Slick (he wasn’t even conceived) not to forget this day.  I am proud that The Boy was able to see the memorial in New York this summer:

Image

Let us not forget.  God Bless America.

Image

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “9/11”

  1. Darryl Says:

    I was in uniform that day. Of course we all remember the details of that awful day in our history. We should never forget not only the tragedy, but also the greatness of our country that occurred that day and many more days, weeks and years after.

    The attacks on our embassies and brutal murder of more Americans on the 11th anniversary is yet another reminder that our war isn’t over. But America and Americans will always overcome.


Leave a Reply

