10 years

Today (actually September 30th) I am celebrating 10 years at my current employer.  All of you know where I work; and before anyone asks, I do not mention names so as not to cause any problems–for myself mostly.  I like my job.  A good company as far as I’m concerned and they treat us right.  Never had issues concerning pay (not pulling down six digits…yet) or bennies or time off.  As a matter of fact we have running jokes around here.  “We get paid for this?” and when someone goes on vacation someone else usually says “Vacation from what?”  Sure, there are times with long hours and being on-call  or technical issues that even leaves the geeks scratching their heads; but it all comes out in the wash.  Yes, there are some stupid things we have to deal with but all in all things are pretty good.  For us technicians; our office is our vehicles with laptop, test equipment, tools and parts.  Just like the Air Force days we are in the background making things work and keeping things working.  The customer knows very little or nothing about us, which is fine with me.  That is a far cry from my previous employer, the big cable tv company in town.  Not only did we have to deal with customers but we had to deal with them in their homes…arrggghhh!!!  The only thing that is kind of drag is recognition is rare.  I didn’t get a call or email (from anyone in the company) saying congrats or get a 10 year lapel pin…not even sure if that exists.  I’m not complaining but a “pat on the back” would have been nice.  That aside, just like my 10 years in the Air Force, I would not trade these last 10 years for anything.  This job and company have allowed me to provide for my family and that is all that really matters.  Anyway, here’s to 10 more years and what that brings.  Now I’m going to see if I can get 10 candles on my beer.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “10 years”

  1. Darryl Says:

    So what you’re saying is, as far as recognition goes, your current job is the same as your Air Force job. Because we all know ATCALS is the bastard stepchild of the AF and nobody knows, or even really cares, who we are until the equipment is broke. And even then we’re only “those $&%@! ATCALS guys”. *sigh* But Congrats bro! I’ll hoist a cold one for ya.


Leave a Reply

