Just being nice

Today, for the first time that I can ever remember, a stranger bought me lunch.  I went to a Subway in the middle of the lunch hour rush and there were 8 or 9 people ahead of me.  I had been standing in line for about a minute or two when an older woman with a cane walked in.  She wasn’t exactly gliding across the room but she got around fine, although slow.  So she gets in line behind me and asks if I could save her place in line when it moved up because she couldn’t stand very long.  I told her that when the other people started to move along she could go ahead of me, not a big deal since I was in no particular hurry anyway.  She ordered a couple or three sandwiches and  was already at the register by the time the crew there started working on mine.  She said a quick thanks for letting her go ahead of me and was out the door.  I get to the register and the cashier said it was already taken care of.  The lady had paid for my lunch.  I was able to catch her in the parking lot and tell her she didn’t have to do that and she said “You don’t come across nice people too often”.  I told her it was nothing and thanked her again.  I was prepared to have a crappy day then this lady had to ruin it. 🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

3 Comments on “Just being nice”

  1. aliabubu72 Says:

    Ahhh…OUTSTANDING!!! Love when people do the nicest listtle things when you least expect it. Great story bro…thanks for sharing. Love ya!

    -original message- Subject: [New post] Just being nice

  2. Darryl Says:

    You still got it! LOL. Seriously though, well done bro. And its nice to know there are still people out there that will recognize a good deed. It’s so irritating when you do something nice for a stranger, like open a door for them, and they just blow right by you like you owed them that without so much as a “Thanks”. Not that you do it looking for appreciation, but at least act like your mama taught you some manners.

    • redbonehound Says:

      Yeah, thought about embellishing the story a little for Tammy’s sake by replacing the old woman with a six foot blonde amazon in stilettos with legs up to here and a rack that makes her top heavy and lips that could suck the chrome off a trailer hitch. Thought better of it though.


Leave a Reply

