Open carry

So we have had open carry here in Texas for six days.  That is not enough time for an honest review but I will offer my opinion.  First, I have no opposition to open carry.  Texas is the 45th state to allow some sort of open carry.  Here you have to have a concealed handgun license (CHL) for open carry.  I treat this as another right we have always had and wonder why it has taken so long given that some states have had it over 20 years.  With that being said, I choose not to participate in open carry.  One of reasons is that there are still people uncomfortable with this and the looks of disapproval or fear are something I would not enjoy.  This will also lead to people/police overreacting and things don’t end well.  Next, I would like to think that most, if not all, of us carrying firearms are well-mannered people but there are some folks out there that will openly carry and for some reason will feel the need to act like jackasses.  I have seen many stories like this and these people do not help their cause.  Just because you can do something doesn’t mean you should.  Is open carry a deterrent to criminals?  Yes.  Does it make you any safer?  Possibly.  Are there things that can go wrong?  Absolutely.  You could also be a target to both the criminals and the law-abiding.  This is why I choose concealed carry.  I don’t want anyone knowing I am armed if I can help it.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

